We offer an enhanced stipend and full UK/EU fees to exceptionally well-qualified students (1st class honours or upper 2nd class honours, or equivalent) who want to embark on a full-time research degree programme.

All of our PhD research projects are co-sponsored. Details of specific projects recruiting now can be found below. General applications are also welcome and will be matched against projects as they are announced (please specify your research interests).

Loughborough University

Deep learning based object detection under occlusion and its embedded software implementation: An EPSRC funded PhD studentship with Suke Intel

Entry requirements:

Applicants should have, or expect to achieve, at least a 2:1 Honours degree (or equivalent) in related engineering or computational science degree with strong programming skills. A relevant Master’s degree and/or experience in embedded systems programming is desirable.

How to apply:

All applications should be made online at http://www.lboro.ac.uk/study/apply/research/.  Under programme name, select “CDT Embedded Intelligence Wolfson School”

Please quote reference number: CDTEI_Meng


General applications are accepted to either University

Please indicate your research interests when applying so your application can be reviewed by relevant academics and companies. Your application will be kept live and matched against PhD project requirements as they become available.

loughborough university

Apply Now

heriot-watt university

Apply Now

Information about documents required when applying to each University can be found here

Each studentship is up to £18,000 plus tuition fees at the UK/EU rate. Non UK applicants must meet the minimum English language requirements, details available here.

International applicants please note: Due to the nature of the EPSRC award the CDT-EI is unable to offer the full international student fees to students from outside of the EU/UK.

If you were invited to and subsequently successful at interview as an international student you would be eligible for UK/EU contribution over four years towards international fees. There is no other assistance provided to international students so you will need to be able to fund the difference between international fees and UK/EU.

Further information about fee and financial support can be found here for Loughborough University and here for Heriot Watt University

For additional information and general enquiries contact: cdt-ei@lboro.ac.uk

If you have a project in mind please contact academic supervisors directly to discuss your application.

Key Contacts

There are five schools involved in the Centre at Loughborough and two at Heriot-Watt, each contributing to a broad technical scope. For information on the specific activity in each of the participating schools and research groups please contact as following:

loughborough university

aeronautical and automotive eng.
dr lisa jackson


centre for information management
prof tom jackson


design school
dr richard bibb


School of Science
prof eran edirisinghe


Wolfson School of Mechanical, Manufacturing and Electrical Engineering
prof paul conway


heriot watt

engineering and physical sciences
Dr Keith Brown


engineering and physical sciences
dr. david flynn


maths and computer sciences
prof. mike chantler


maths and computer sciences
prof. nick. taylor